Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Tales of Tyre-racing, Makis and M'zungus.
14 février 2012

Inspector Valentine

DSC00050


I’m being inspected today. Inspections in the French education system aren’t like Ofsted ones: there’s only one inspector at a time, usually, and he or she’s only coming to inspect one particular teacher over one hourly period. The teacher is warned a couple of days in advance, and has to do all sorts of paperwork and preparation to be able to present a full lesson plan and a full sequence plan to the inspector. I’ve got to show mine everything I’ve done since August briefly, and the sequence of lessons I’m doing at the moment in full detail. She’ll look at how I work, how I manage the kids and if everyone participates in the lesson, she’ll take a couple of kids’ copybooks (generally pretty awful ones, as she’ll be sitting at the back of the class and she’ll most likely take those nearest to her, bearing in mind that the more careless kids tend to sit at the back) and she’ll interview me for an hour afterwards to ask any questions she feels like asking, generally asking me to defend my choices and explain anything silly I may have done during the hour.

           

DSC00129

 

As the typical working attitude of my students is fast asleep slumped over the table – the sort of fast asleep a teacher suddenly shouting in their ear or making a loud noise can’t wake – I’ve talked to the class she’ll be watching to ask them to be on their best behaviour. Never mind telling them that the inspector’s coming to watch me – they couldn’t care less about that – so I’ve told them that a lady will be visiting various schools all round Mayotte to see how the young Mahorais students work and behave, and that she’ll be comparing their behaviour with the other French overseas territories to see who is the best behaved. Therefore, my students are “representing not only their school, but their country”, and “must not let Mayotte down”. We’ll see what happens.

             

DSC00091__Copier_

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Newsletter
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 39 588
Publicité